Never Lie by Freida McFadden is the type of mystery/thriller that would have made Agatha Christie drool. No lie.

Summary –

“…I want to tell Ethan that I love the house as much as he does. That when Judy arrives, we should make her an over on the spot.
But I can’t do that.
Because as I stare out at this sprawling estate, a sick feeling comes over me. So sick that I cover my mouth and take a deep breath to keep from losing my lunch all over the BMW’s expensive upholstery. I have never felt this way before. Not about any of the dozens of empty houses we have toured over the last couple of months. I have never had a feeling this strong.
Something terrible has happened in this house…”

Newlyweds Tricia and Ethan are searching for the house of their dreams.

One evening they visit the remote manor owned by the missing and presumed dead, Dr. Adrienne Hale. When a fierce winter storm traps them at the estate. With no cell service and the roads blocked in. The couple knows they will have to stay at the estate until the blizzard passes.

To keep herself occupied, Tricia goes in search of a book in Dr. Hales extensive library to pass the time. What she finds instead is a secret room. There stored securely, are secret recordings that Dr. Hale has kept of all her sessions with her various patients. Secrets told in confidence. Tricia cannot help but to play the tapes and listen.

Dr. Adrienne Hale is different, she knows. Her personality is well suited to be a therapist, though she knows in truth she should see one herself. With a bestselling book to her name and another on the way, she cannot help but feel she is a little better than most people. Certainly the ones who see her on a weekly basis.

But that is about to change. One patient knows more about Dr. Hale than she would like and the threat of exposure looms over her head. What is she willing to do to keep her own secrets hidden. How far is Dr. Hale willing to go and who can she trust?

Tricia listens to the chain of events that led to Dr. Hale’s disappearance and as she begins to unravel the mystery, she also begins to suspect that she may not be safe. There a things happening in the house. Noises that shouldn’t be. Tricia begins to realize that she and Ethan are not alone,

Review –

I had heard of Freida McFadden, but had yet to read one of her books. Never Lie is the first one for me and it will not be the last. I was cruising along in the reading and about page 80 thought that I had figured out one of the secrets and who the main bad guy was. I was wrong. Damn I was wrong!

I mentioned Agatha Christie in my intro and I am not lying. This novel has so many twists and red herrings that what you think you know to begin with is not what turns out at all. Or is it? This is what a mystery novel use to be and McFadden delivers it like a comfort meal. Something you grew up with and didn’t realize you had been missing until it is served up to you.

The characters are intricately written and what you may initially think are character flaws are in fact glimpses into their true selves. A taste of who they may truly be. Again, what you think it is, is not what it may be.

One of my favorite notes in this well orchestrated symphony is that all the secrets are laid out in plain sight. You just can’t see them because you are focused elsewhere. The book is that well written.

This is my first Freida McFadden novel but it will not be my last! I am looking forward to the reading!

Please Vent Here