French Toast with Banana Walnut Topping

breakfast

   I love breakfast. I love weekends when I can relax in the morning and make the family breakfast. Liz sits at the table and reads her paper and I start breakfast with black coffee in hand. One cup to start my day and one more when breakfast is done. Its a routine I know but it unwinds the long week better than anything. Breakfast is on the table when the kids roll out of bed and I’m ready for football.

   In our area there is a wonderful breakfast place Over Easy; it has been named best breakfast in town by several publications and has even been featured on the Food Network’s Diners, Drive Ins, and Dives. One of its best dishes is a Banana Walnut topped French Toast out of Brioche bread. It is awesome! So what follows is my take on it.

   Like most meals this started with a trip to my pantry and the store. I love small markets and nearby Fresh and Easy grocery. I can’t help but browse their markdown racks and what happens to be there, but a loaf  of Challah egg bread. Not Brioche but similar. Once I saw that I got it in my head that I could do this. So here goes.

French Toast –

  • 1 loaf of Challah bread – sliced
  • 2 Tablespoons real butter for skillet
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoons brown or white  sugar
  • 1/4 cup of milk
  • dash of vanilla
  • 4 eggs

   Slice bread diagonally to get the most surface area. Make French toast egg mixture. Mine is 4 eggs, a good dash of milk, cinnamon, salt, vanilla and sugar. Pretty simple huh. I occasionally will add ginger depending on what I am going for. Stir up the egg mixture pretty good and dip the bread. Do not let sit too long or else the middle will be soggy. The Challah bread is sweet and airy so I just give it a good dip but don’t let it sit. I grease my skillet, I use my crepe pan for this, with butter and not oil. Let it heat up and toast the bread. I will press lightly on the bread to make sure all the surface area is touching the skillet and there are not pockets of raw egg anywhere. Uniform cooking is key here.

Banana Walnut Topping –   

  • 2 ripe bananas – sliced
  • 2 Tablespoons real butter
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 teaspoons brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnuts

   Slice the bananas diagonally to get the most surface area just like the bread. In a small skillet, non stick preferable, heat brown sugar, butter and walnuts, stirring constantly. When caramelized add cinnamon and bananas and heat on low. A little orange juice here is optional. I also added a teaspoon of Mexican sweetened condensed milk that was hanging around my fridge annoying me. It seemed like a good idea and it worked. Once the bananas are heated through and the topping has thickened a little pull off flame.

Serve up with whatever breakfast sides you like. Today it was maple sausage nuggets and scrambled eggs.

And coffee.

Okay football time!

  

Please Vent Here

